'President's Annual Dinner 2018'


Saturday 3rd November was the date and the Legends Lounge of Middlesbrough Football Club was the venue. 91 people attended the 64th Annual Dinner and had a wonderful evening!

As people arrived, there was entertainment from Emma Kaye-Hudson.



The meal was excellent, served quickly and by friendly staff - we have come to expect this from Middlesbrough FC. Many people commented on the high quality of the meal.

After the meal, the awards ceremony took place.


James Baker was awarded the Hebblethwaite Trophy for Close Up Magic.

Eamonn McClurey was awarded the Jimmy Green Wand Trophy for Cabaret Magic.

James Baker was awarded the Will Fleet Trophy for Stage Magic.

Brian Lesko was awarded a certificate for the Best Trick.

Neil Armstrong was awarded the Bill Ripley 'Top Hat' Trophy for the Best Trick.

Nimmo Clarke was awarded the Alan Taylor Award for Roadshow Magic.

Sheila McTiernan was awarded the Champagne Bucket for Services to the Circle.

Brian Lesko was awarded his Circle Badge.

The prizes were handed out by the President's consort, Penny Clarke who received flowers from the circle Vice President, Steve Ashcroft as thanks for making the presentations.

Nimmo Clarke (President) gave an opening speech & Martin was the Master of Ceremonies for the evening. The 'Wall Game' was competitive as always thanks to Norman Phillips.


The entertainment was provided by Cal Halbert (Comedy Impressionist) and Andrew van Buren (Illusionist and Circus Skills).

Both acts were very well received and put on an excellent show. Our thanks go out to them.


Below are the performers in action, starting with Cal Halbert.


And secondly, Andrew van Buren.


In summary, an excellent evening at an excellent venue. A return visit next year looks very likely. Hope to see you all in 2019 for the 65th!

Many thanks to the dinner committee on an outstanding job, once again. Steve Lewis & Eric Leonard pictured below.


Pictures by MY

Back To Activities